Analytik NEWS
Online Laboratory Magazine


Arfvedson-Schlenk Prize for outstanding achievements in the field of lithium chemistry


Electrochemist and Materials Scientists Prof. Martin Winter from Münster University has been awarded the Arfvedson-Schlenk Prize for his outstanding scientific achievements in the field of lithium chemistry. The Society of German Chemists (GDCh) awards the prize donated by Albemarle every two years.

Prof. Barbara Albert, former president of the GDCh, presented the prize this week at the GDCh Science Forum Chemistry in Aachen, which is considered the most important chemistry congress in the German-speaking region. The Arfvedson-Schlenk Prize, endowed with 7,500 euros and a silver medal, is named after the discoverer of the element lithium, Johann August Arfvedson, and the pioneer of lithium organic chemistry, Wilhelm Schlenk, and was first awarded in 1999.

This is Martin Winter's third award this year. In January he had already received the WWU 2018 Research Prize, and last month he was awarded the Faraday Medal 2019 of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Martin Winter has significantly advanced battery research, in particular the lithium-ion technology, over the past 25 years. Among others, his pioneering works on electrolyte additives, fluorinated solvents and additives, lithium storage alloys, lithium metal anodes, dual ion batteries and on analysis and characterization methods thereof, need to be mentioned.

He is spokesperson of the Batterie2020 Battery Initiative of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), head of the Battery Competence Centre (ElektroMobilität NRW), chairman of the International Battery Materials Association (IBA) and president of the International Meeting of Lithium Batteries (IMLB). As scientific director of MEET Battery Research Center at Münster University and as founding director of Helmholtz-Institute Münster at Forschungszentrum Jülich, he has made Münster an chief centre for battery research in Germany.

» more information

Source: University of Münster